About

Independent journalist, author and archivist, member of the History of Medicine working group of the Commission for History and Philosophy of the Sciences at the Austrian Academy of Sciences (ÖAW) and on the advisory board for the Austrian Society for the History of Science (ÖGW).


My next book:

Cat's Cradles

I have just completed the crime novel which I have been writing – with breaks – since 2010. It is set in the Museum of Contraception and Abortion in Vienna. It is about suspicions, conceits and old pain. The working title is: 'Cat’s Cradles'. I am now in talks with publishing houses.


Please click!

Mabel Louisa Aplin, née Bidmead (2. 12. 1897, Dorset – 31. 1. 1979, Bournemouth) has been dear to my heart since I came across her doll’s tea set in a junk shop. My research about her came to a standstill right when I was in the thick of it because other things took priority. But I’ll be carrying on with it soon!

My work as an archivist

  • MUVS, Vienna (archive, library, curation, texts)
  • Private commissions for archival work, research and genealogy
  • Private commissions for biographies of individuals and families.

My previous book publications:

Biography from a family archive: Clara, born 1912. Her father actually wanted a boy to inherit his vineyard. Even her beautiful mother showed little interest in her. She followed a rogue halfway across the globe. Luckily, she met a reputable man from Hamburg there and became a successful businesswoman. (Limited edition, German, November 2018)

    Please click!

    A different book about olive trees – neither a cookbook nor Greek mythology! A journey through the year with Petra Haider’s atmospheric photographs: interesting facts, useful titbits, the amusing and the bizarre. From luxury cars to houndstooth. From spitting contests to Mighty Mouse. And about olive oil. 170 pages, German. € 30. Published in April 2018. Order here.

    Please click!

    The Detective of Fertile Days – The Story of the Gynaecologist Hermann Knaus (1892-1970) (German, together with C. Fiala). Hermann Knaus' combination of a hunger for scientific knowledge together with profound faith, of abrasive coolness towards sceptics and critics but touching solicitude for his patients fascinates me. The publisher is the MUVS in Vienna. It made it onto the 2018 longlist (category: Medicine/Biology) for the Science Book of the Year. The book can also be read in the Library of Congress.

    Tracking NS-Lawyer and Rescuer of Jews Helmut Pfeiffer

    [‚Spurensuche. Der NS-Anwalt und Judenretter Helmut Pfeiffer’], Dec. 2011, Vergangenheitsverlag Berlin, ISBN: 978-3-86408-003-6.  My research was supported by the Future Fund of the Republic of Austria, the Foundation Dr. Robert & Lina Thyll-Dürr and by Drägerwerk, Lübeck.

    Autobiography of a German physician (private assignment): More than 70 years of life, studies, profession, family, travels, etc. (Limited edition, German, July 2010)

    Die Sonders in Oldesloe – Eine Papiermüllerfamilie zwischen Courantthalern und Tuberculose (A family of papermillers in 19th century Northern Germany), in German, co-authored by Marianne Dräger, Wachholtz publisher, Neumünster (2009), ISBN 978-3529063589

    Mein Partner ist krank – und wo bleibe ich? (My partner got ill – and what about me?), in German, co-authored by Jan-Hinnerk Jacke. Forewords by Barbara Prammer (Speaker of the National Council of Austria), Susanne Kastner  (Vice-President of the German Bundestag) and Andrea Kdolsky (Austrian Senior Minister for Health, Family and Youth). Goldegg-Verlag, Vienna (1. edition 2007, 2. edition 2009), ISBN 978-3901880483

    Mama hat Krebs – Mit Kindern die Krankheit begreifen (Mummy’s having cancer - Acting in partnership with your kids), in German, Foreword by Maria Rauch-Kallat (Austrian Senior Minister for Health and Women), Kreuz publisher, Stuttgart (2004), ISBN 978-3783123692, Council of Vienna Award for promoting health

    Japanisches Wien (co-authored by Peter Pantzer, Professor of Japanology), Herold publisher (1989). ISBN: 3700803842 (in German). Simul Press, Tokyo, ISBN 4377408372 (in Japanese).

About

Freie Journalistin, Autorin und Archivarin, Mitglied der Arbeitsgruppe Geschichte der Medizin, Kommission für Geschichte und Philosophie der Wissenschaften, Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften (ÖAW) und im Beirat der Österreichischen Gesellschaft für Wissenschaftsgeschichte (ÖGW).


Mein nächstes Buch:

Das Hexennetz

Soeben habe ich den Krimi fertiggestellt, an dem ich - mit Unterbrechungen - seit 2010 geschrieben habe. Er spielt im Museum für Verhütung und Schwangerschaftsabbruch in Wien. Es geht um Verdächtigungen, Einbildungen und alte Schmerzen. Der Arbeitstitel lautet: 'Hexennetze'. Jetzt bin ich im Gespräch mit Verlagen. Wer mehr erfahren will, klickt hier.

    Bitte klicken

    Mabel Louisa Aplin geb. Bidmead (2. 12. 1897, Dorset - 31. 1. 1979, Bournemouth) ist mir ans Herz gewachsen, seit ich bei einem Trödler auf ihr Puppengeschirr gestossen bin. Mittendrin sind die Recherchen nach ihr stecken geblieben, weil sich anderes vorgedrängt hat. Aber bald geht es weiter!

     

    Meine Tätigkeit als Archivarin

    • MUVS, Wien (Archiv, Bibliothek, Kuratierung, Texte)
    • Privataufträge für Archivarbeit, Recherchen und Ahnenforschung
    • Privataufträge für Einzel- und Familienbiografien

     

    Meine bisherigen Buchveröffentlichungen:

    Biografie aus einem Familienarchiv: Clara, geb. 1912. Ihr Vater wollte eigentlich einen Buben als Erben des Weingutes. Auch die schöne Mutter war an ihr wenig interessiert. Einem Hallodri folgte sie über den halben Erdball. Zum Glück traf sie dort einen seriösen Hamburger und wurde eine erfolgreiche Geschäftsfrau. (Limitierte Edition, November 2018)

      Bitte klicken

      Ein anderes Buch über Olivenbäume - weder Kochbuch noch griechische Mythologie! Eine Reise durchs Jahr zu Petra Haiders stimmungsvollen Fotos: Wissenswertes, Nützliches, Lustiges und Seltsames. Von Luxusautos bis Pepitastoff. Von Weitspucken bis Mighty Mouse. Und über Olivenöl. 170 Seiten. € 30. Erschienen 4/2018. Zu bestellen .

      Bitte klicken

      Der Detektiv der fruchtbaren Tage - Die Geschichte des Gynäkologen Hermann Knaus (1892-1970) (gem. mit C. Fiala). Hermann Knaus' Kombination von naturwissenschaftlichem Erkenntnishunger mit tiefer Gläubigkeit, von harscher Unfreundlichkeit gegenüber Skeptikern und Kritikern aber berührender Fürsorglichkeit für seine Patientinnen fasziniert mich. Herausgeber ist das MUVS in Wien. 2018 auf der Longlist (Kategorie Medizin/Biologie) des Wissenschaftsbuches des Jahres. Das Buch kann auch in der Library of Congress gelesen werden.

        Spurensuche. Der NS-Anwalt und Judenretter Helmut Pfeiffer, Dez. 2011, Vergangenheitsverlag Berlin, ISBN: 978-3-86408-003-6. Gefördert durch den Zukunftsfonds der Republik Österreich, die Stiftung Dr. Robert & Lina Thyll-Dürr sowie das Drägerwerk, Lübeck.

          Autobiografie einer deutschen Ärztin (Privatauftrag): Mehr als 70 Jahre Leben, Studien, Beruf, Familie, Reisen etc. (Limitierte Edition, Juli 2010)

             

          Die Sonders in Oldesloe – Eine Papiermüllerfamilie zwischen Courantthalern und Tuberculose (gem. mit M. Dräger), Wachholtz-Verlag, Neumünster (2009), ISBN 978-3529063589. Das Buch steht übrigens auch in der London Library und in der Library of Congress.

          Mein Partner ist krank – und wo bleibe ich? (gem. mit J.-H. Jacke). Mit Vorworten von Barbara Prammer, Susanne Kastner und Andrea Kdolsky. Goldegg-Verlag, Wien (1. Auflage 2007, 2. Auflage 2009), ISBN 978-3901880483

          Mama hat Krebs – Mit Kindern die Krankheit begreifen, Vorwort von Bundesministerin Maria Rauch-Kallat. Kreuz-Verlag, Stuttgart (2004), ISBN 978-3783123692, Gesundheitspreis der Stadt Wien. Enthält: Wie geht es eigentlich Dir?, Wie sage ich's meinem Kind?, Was kann ich konkret tun?, Wo finde ich Hilfe?

          Japanisches Wien (gem. mit P. Pantzer), Herold-Verlag (1989). ISBN: 3700803842. Das Buch liegt auch in japanischer Sprache vor (Simul Press, Tokyo, ISBN 4377408372). Deutschsprachige Exemplare kann man bei mir kaufen. Das Buch kann auch in der Library of Congress gelesen werden.